The Foundation Board meets regularly to set strategic priorities, decide on grant applications and policy matters regarding the general administration of the Foundation’s affairs, including the collection and investment of funds.

Board Of Directors

Appointed by the Minister of Justice & Solicitor General:

  • Dawn-Lyn Blake, Tsuut’ina

  • Seun Ogunsola, MBA, Calgary

  • Sharon Buckley-Tkach, Edmonton

Appointed by the Law Society of Alberta:

  • Paul G. Chiswell, BComm, LLB, BCL, Acting Chair, Calgary

  • Moira Váně, LLB, Edmonton

Appointed by the Alberta Law Foundation Board of Directors:

  • Drew Thomson,  MBA, FCPA, FCMA, Vice-Chair, Edmonton

  • Kate Pedlow, LLB, CIC.C, Calgary

Grants Team

Program Director

Janet Kerrigan

Manager, Strategic Grants

Kristen Seipp

Grants Coordinator

Timmi Shorr

Grants Coordinator


Grants Coordinator

Veronica Lawrence

Other Staff

Executive Director

Byron Chan

Director of Finance and Administration

Virginia Baescu

Finance Coordinator

Diana Prado


Diana Porter

Research and Community Engagement Coordinator

Flora Stevenson